University of Cyprus


Centre of excellence in the Mediterranean

The University of Cyprus (UCY) was established in 1989. It has 22 departments in 8 Schools – Humanities, Pure and Applied Sciences, Social Sciences and Education, Economic & Management, Engineering, Letters, Medical and Graduate School - as well as a number of affiliated research-institutions. Currently, 7,000 students (5,176 undergraduates and 1,829 postgraduate students) are registered at UCY, educated by 1,293 faculty members.

UCY is based in Nicosia, the capital of Cyprus. It operates in a space of 133,000 m2 in a modern campus site in Athalassa, about 6 km east of the centre of the old city of Nicosia. Some of its faculties and research institutions are still located in different places of the city until the completion of the university campus.

Research matters

Research is the basic strategic element for the University´s continuous growth. Through the research activities of its academic community, the University of Cyprus, evolves, advances, innovates and enhances its reputation within both Cyprus and the European Union.

Rankings and Excellence

In the Times Higher Education (THE) 2015-16 World University rankings, UCY was among the 351-400 best universities worldwide. In 2008 UCY was awarded the “Committed to Excellence” by the European Organization Quality Management, in 2009 the UCY became the first Greek-speaking University to be awarded the Diploma Supplement, and in 2012 UCY was awarded the “HR Excellence in Research” award by the European Commission. In 2011 Sir Christopher Pissarides (Department of Economics) was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics.

TIME MBE - logo