21 February 2018

Webinar by Myra Mohnen, University of Essex

Webinar by Myra Mohnen, University of Essex

TIME-MBE and the TECHNIS research group invites you to a web-seminar (webinar).

Please join us for a webinar on Tuesday the 27th of February 2018 at 11:00 GMT (i.e. 12:00 Amsterdam time, and 13:00 Athens time)

The speaker is Myra Mohnen, University of Essex. The title of the talk is “Stars and Brokers: Knowledge Spillovers among Medical Scientists”.

The moderator will be Dr. Andreas Panagopoulos. This webinar is free and open to all.

To participate and for further information, please contact Dr. Andreas Panagopoulos ( at least a day prior to the seminar.

Abstract: Scientists are embedded in a community in which knowledge is shared. While the importance of peer effects in science is well-established, the focus of this paper is novel in that it studies the influence of network position on these effects. Using a new measure, brokerage degree, I show that network position is crucial in determining scientific production by facilitating access to other scientists’ non-redundant knowledge through coauthorship links. Identification results from variation in the position of stars who died unexpectedly. Heterogeneity in treatment effects - losing a star-coauthor - is on the same order of magnitude as average treatment effects.

TIME MBE - logo